Update: Many users have been reporting that their accounts are being reactivated after 24 - 48 hours.
A large number of users across the world have reported that their Facebook accounts have been automatically disabled, affecting their livelihoods and ability to communicate with their friends and families.
In the past 24 hours alone, thousands of users received an email stating that they have "violated" the social media giant's "community standards":
Your Facebook account has been disabled. This is because your account, or activity on it, doesn't follow our Community Standards. If you think we disabled your account by mistake, we can take you through a few steps to request a review. You'll need to complete these steps within 30 days to avoid your account being permanently disabled.
Upon filing an appeal to have their accounts reactivated, they were then prompted with the following message:
"We received your information. Thank you for sending your information. We have fewer people available to review information due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. This means we may be unable to review your account. We apologise for any inconvenience."